Group receives NSUF RTE award to characterize ion irradiated PM-HIP alloy

Our group has been awarded a rapid turnaround experiment (RTE) award from the DOE Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF). The project is entitled “Irradiated microstructure evolution in cast compared to PM-HIP Alloy 625”. This project expands our ongoing work on neutron irradiation effects in alloys produced by powder metallurgy with hot isostatic pressing (PM-HIP). Here, we will characterize irradiation effects after ion irradiation, in order to provide a scoping study using a faster, lower-cost irradiation method. Results from this work will inform our upcoming neutron irradiation characterizations, enabling those characterizations to be conducted more effectively. We will utilize transmission electron microscopy (TEM) to characterize the irradiation-induced voids, dislocation loops, and precipitates in Ni-base Alloy 625. We are excited to work with the Westinghouse Materials Centers of Excellence (MCOE) on this new project!

You may read the NSUF announcement here.


Patki receives Magoon Award

Graduate student Priyam Patki received the 2018 Estus H. and Vashti L. Magoon Award.  The award, presented by the Purdue College of Engineering, recognizes graduate students for excellence in teaching.  Priyam twice worked as a teaching assistant for Nuclear Materials Laboratory (NUCL 325), through which he has instructed nuclear engineering undergraduates on fundamental materials science techniques, including x-ray diffraction, metallography, annealing, mechanical testing, and optical and electron microscopy.

Thank you to Dr. Shripad Revankar for nominating Priyam for this award!  Congratulations, Priyam, and thank you for your dedication to student learning!


Priyam Patki defends M.S. Thesis

Priyam Patki successfully defended his M.S. thesis in the School of Nuclear Engineering.  His thesis was entitled, “Microstructure evolution and TEM in situ mechanical testing of proton irradiated nanocrystalline copper tantalum alloy”.  This work studied the effect of irradiation on the structure-property relationship in the unique Cu-10Ta alloy system.

Thank you to Drs. Gennady Miloshevsky and Robert Bean for their service on Priyam’s committee.  Congratulations, Priyam!

Yerik Bazarbayev defends M.S. Thesis

Yerik Bazarbayev successfully defended his M.S. thesis in the School of Nuclear Engineering.  His thesis is entitled, “Effect of surface treatments on radiation tolerance of ATI 718+ alloy”.  This work studied the role of laser shock peening (LSP) and ultrasonic nanocrystal surface modification (UNSM) on the irradiation-induced dislocation loop evolution in a high temperature Ni-base alloy.

Thank you to Drs. Gennady Miloshevsky and Robert Bean for their service on Yerik’s committee.  Congratulations, Yerik!

Group receives NSF grant to use irradiation to study intergranular fracture

Our research group received a grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF), entitled CAREER: Using Irradiation to Understand Intergranular Fracture Mechanisms of Anisotropically-Bonded Solute Segregants.

We will use irradiation to help solve a long-standing problem in steels:  the role of bonding on fracture mechanisms.  Solute segregation to grain boundaries is known to change the fracture behavior of those boundaries, but the specific role of the isotropy of the solute-Fe bonds is not well understood.  We will utilize irradiation to (1) drive solute segregation to boundaries, and (2) enable us to utilize nanoscale mechanical testing techniques to observe the fracture mechanisms of interest in real time.  The project will also establish a summer research internship that will enable a local community college student to work on this exciting new research project.

Thank you so much to the NSF/DMR/MMN program for believing in our research ideas!

Other media about this award:

JPW presents seminar at Wisconsin

JPW presented a seminar in the Department of Nuclear Engineering & Engineering Physics at the University of Wisconsin – Madison.  Her talk described our group’s various approaches for nanomechanical testing of irradiated materials.

Thank you for the invitation, Dr. Todd Allen!

JPW appointed to leadership roles in TMS & ASTM

JPW was named Chairperson of the ASTM International Subcommittee E10.08 on Procedures for Neutron Radiation Damage Simulation.  The Subcommittee is tasked with maintaining and updating ASTM Standard E10.08, which describes suggested methods for conducting charged particle irradiations and subsequent specimen characterization.

JPW was also named to the TMS Structural Materials Division (SMD) Council as the Education Committee representative.

We look forward to contributing to the nuclear/materials research community in these new roles, and thank Dr. Roger Stoller for his support with ASTM!

Group highlighted in Nuclear News & #31PurdueWomen

Our group’s research programs through the DOE Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF) were highlighted in the February 2018 issue of Nuclear News, the member magazine of the American Nuclear Society.  The article, “The NSUF: Shaping the future of nuclear research”, mentions our group’s rapid turnaround experiment projects on nanocluster stability in ODS and F/M alloys.

Thank you to Dr. Simon Pimblott for the article mention, and to NSUF for the generous support of our research!

JPW was also featured in the #31PurdueWomen campaign from the Purdue Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships.  The campaign celebrates Women’s History Month by featuring a Purdue woman researcher each day of March, 2018.  Thank you to the EVPRP for thinking of us and highlighting our work!